Nippon vs Ogre Kingdom Battle Report and Rules Discussion!

Click this hyperlink for the battle report!

I’m taking a small break from painting and playing Orcs to take the Nippon out for a spin. I have a little army back story I’m working on that I’ll post at a later time but the jist of the army is Skaven in Nippon learning the way of the Samuri rather then that of the Ninja 🥷 like Clan Eshin. (One of my heroes is bound to be named splinter)

Initial thoughts on my first play of Nippon. The rules and list feel very well developed. I was a little worried about this being a still in development army but there is nothing dramatically OP or UP. I’m still not convinced on the blunder special rules for Nippon. In my heart I want something like the Dark Elves have but understand why we would want that rule to be unique to them.

Current Rule

If a Nippon Hero (Daimyo or Shugenja, not the Shogun) rolls a double 6 when issuing orders, the player must roll on the Blunder table with a -1 penalty on the result. If the table indicates a “You must be crazy” result, the -1 Command penalty must be applied to a Samurai or Samurai cavalry unit if a unit of these troops was being ordered, or was in the brigade being ordered. If there is more than one of these units present, the Nippon player may choose which is affected.

My Proposition

If a Nippon Hero (Daimyo or Shugenja, not the Shogun) rolls a double 6 when issuing orders, the player must roll on the Blunder table with a +1 on the result. In addition the the result, the Nippon Hero will suffer -1 to his command value for the rest of the game.

Justification

I believe this more aligns with the theme. The leader has lost his influence and the Samurai carry on with the battle. To me it seems weird that the Samurai would refuse the order and take a penalty for the rest of the game for the Nippon Heroes blunder.

Let me know what you think. Thanks for watching and reading. 🗡 🥷 🐀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s